Are clay cartridges (7.5’s) suitable for pigeons and crows?

I have for years shot a 20 bore and have almost always used 28grm 6’s on pigeons and crows. Not having bought cartridges for a long time now and down to my last 500 I thought I would stock up. A 250 slab locally is now around £120 !! Jeepers Creepers. Almost 50p a shot.

Clay rounds are significantly cheaper but I’ve no idea or experience on whether the lighter load is suitable or too light and would do more damage than good. Hence the question. Advice welcomed please. Thanks.

A cartridge is a cartridge!
You will find the “clay” cartridges will work just fine. Don’t worry about the lighter load. 
28 grams is a heavy load for a 20 bore anyway. If you try to fire that in a traditional SxS 20 bore it will jump off your shoulder.......mine does at 5 3/4 pounds. 
I find crows/pigeons are killed quite effectively by 14 gram loads of 7, 7 1/2 or even 9’s from a .410.  Small shot is the secret.

This one has done the rounds before on PW. If I recall, there were as many people who liked 7 1/2 for pigeons as those who didn’t. Personally, for what it’s worth, I find them quite limiting. OK for over the decoys, but not great beyond that. I suppose there’s a very good reason why the manufacturers produce 6s for pigeons….?!

Post script. An ounce of UK 7s (2.4mm) is a different story. Very user friendly through an open choke - and more reach. 

2 hours ago, Bobba said:

I have for years shot a 20 bore and have almost always used 28grm 6’s on pigeons and crows. Not having bought cartridges for a long time now and down to my last 500 I thought I would stock up. A 250 slab locally is now around £120 !! Jeepers Creepers. Almost 50p a shot.

Clay rounds are significantly cheaper but I’ve no idea or experience on whether the lighter load is suitable or too light and would do more damage than good. Hence the question. Advice welcomed please. Thanks.