Snap Cap Tension

yorkkie

Hi All,

I bet this opens a can of worms and opinions...  As I have just bought my first gun (a Beretta 686E EVO) I read the manual and it states that  when dry firing you should use Snap Caps.  As they are adjustable how much tension should you feel on the cap?

I guess there will be people who say you don't need to use them and others that say you don't need to release spring pressure for storage of the gun. 

As a newbie I am happy for any feedback on the subject.

Thanks All

Welcome. I have never ever dry fired a shotgun in my life and can't understand why anyone other than a gunsmith would feel the need. Snap caps were designed for no other purpose than to part the unknowledgeable from their cash, but I'm not ridiculing you as I once bought some too, being led to believe I needed them. I didn't.  🙂 They're quite good ones with brass inserts; I can't recall the last time I saw them. 

Edited: I tell a lie; just remembered I did once dry fire a shotgun! 

Edited by Scully

I do have a pair of snap caps and although don't use them on my shotguns (I dont dry fire either) I have used them when I have bought second hand shotguns to check the firing pins work and you don't get a double discharge, and the ejectors work etc.

Edited by prem1234

Folk who have replied saying don't bother with snap caps are probably implying (quite correctly, in my opinion) that there is no need to release the spring tension when simply putting the gun away until the next outing.

However, some people recommend that you regularly practise at home, mounting and swinging a shotgun on an imaginary target.   If you want to make that feel more realistic by actually pulling the trigger, it would certainly be sensible to use case snap caps.   Maybe one of the professional gunsmiths will comment on what damage, if any, can result from dry firing without snap caps (which perhaps depends on the gun's design?).