FRUSTRATION AT DOCTORS

DUNKS

Daughter in law phoned doctors surgery for an appointment as her 12year old had suddenly come down with a fever and very sore throat. Sorry says receptionist we do not have any appointments, try 111

This she does and is told they will make her a telephone appointment with a local doctor. Doctor phones within a couple of hours and is the doctor from her own surgery. Doctor says yes it's vital she see a doctor ASAP. Can we see you? No I am a doctor but I dont have the appointment book! Phone reception.

She does and is again told sorry we do not have any appointments. TRY 111

CRAZY OR NOT.

Edited by DUNKS

I think we all know that the doctors are very over subscribed now. The receptionists at my practice have had 'training' so you now have to tell them what medical condition you are asking for an appointment for. That smacks of the blind leading the blind to me. I rarely have to see a doctor but following an operation I developed a nasty eye infection. I was referred to a chemist by a receptionist, went to the chemist who promptly rang the surgery and told them in no uncertain terms that I needed to see a doctor. Lo and behold a doctor was able to see me shortly afterwards. A complete waste of everyone's time, clearly part of their training is not to take note that folk who ring rarely probably having more need than folk who ring everyday because they have a sniffle.

I think that possibly our NHS system has unwittingly created its own dependency and a sickening population rather than a tough one.

i have experienced exactly that............whats really hacks me off is that i have paid every week/mth into NHS for all my life ...and this is how im treated...........DONT EVEN ASK ME ABOUT DENTISTS :mad: