Cold Water Swimming

SuperGoose75

Around 15 years ago I used to work ridiculous hours 6 days a week. Plasterer by trade but when I got fed up looking at walls and ceilings I would alternate between plastering and concreting. I always treated the work like going to the gym and also watched my diet. Around the time I was in serious shape a ripped 12 and a 1/2 stone and very fit.  

Back then I had a real urge to enter the sea (I honestly dont know why) but I just had to get in for a swim. I remember an early march evening when I was diving off a local platform beside a slipway when a guy I knew from the RNLI  came up to me and said- I knew it had to be somebody mad.! He told me they had been in training in wetsuits the pevious evening and it was baltic..and here I was in a pair of shorts.

Fast forward to the present day and  cold water swimming is all the rage. I was in town this morning and saw people on various parts of the coast getting ready to go swimming at high tide. I went for a walk around a coastal trail after I had my bits and bobs done and it took me to the slipway that I aforementioned . There was a large group of mostly elderly ladies preparing to enter the water.  And in they went swimming about and doing exercises whilst standing shoulder deep in the water.

Now I can stick a lot of cold, but the positive urge to enter the cold sea has long gone. However I have been suffering with bad anxiety this past few years after being hit very hard with covid. Apparently this coldwater swimming is a great way of combating stress and anxiety.  It is something I am serious about getting back into in the coming weeks and my wife has bought me a dry-robe for Christmas.

So have we any cold water or wild swimmers on PW..?

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I used to do a lot of sea swimming in my younger days, but don't have that urge these days, i much prefer standing on the beach with a camera taking pics of surfers.